GameFileForums  

Go Back   GameFileForums > Game Backup/Burning Instructions/Solutions > Game Backup Instructions
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23-07-2008
wannabee-wallabee wannabee-wallabee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Question stronghold no CD error

I am trying to load in my Stronghold game using no CD patch. I keep getting this error message. I have tries re-installing the no CD patch but have had no luck. Any ideas as to what I need to do?
Attached Images
File Type: bmp stronghold-error-message.bmp (220.1 KB, 1821 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-07-2008
wolfsrain wolfsrain is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 780
Default

Did you overwrite the files in your installation directory with the ones from the archive?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-07-2008
wannabee-wallabee wannabee-wallabee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Question no cd error

I downloaded the patch file. I copied the stronghold disk into a directory I named Stronghold. Next I extracted the patch file to the stronghold directory. I got a message asking me if I wanted to overwrite the .exe file. I said yes. After extraction I tried to start the game using the .exe file in the stronghold directory. That is when I got the error message.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-07-2008
DuffMan DuffMan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabee-wallabee
I downloaded the patch file. I copied the stronghold disk into a directory I named Stronghold. Next I extracted the patch file to the stronghold directory. I got a message asking me if I wanted to overwrite the .exe file. I said yes. After extraction I tried to start the game using the .exe file in the stronghold directory. That is when I got the error message.
What do you mean you "copied the stronghold disk to a directory"? You should be installing the game straight from the CD/DVD.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2008
wannabee-wallabee wannabee-wallabee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Question

For some reason I have a directory already on the computer for Stronghold. But even though I am the only user for my laptop and should have administrator privileges I am limited to read only access. So when I try to reinstall the game I do not get the install option. All I get is the option to play the game. When I do I get an error message. I can not install the patch as I can not overwrite the file. Pretty much stuck until I can figure out how to work around this. Ever run across this problem before? I do not know if the patch had something to do with the privileges or not. Personally I do not think so but I am running out of things to try to erase this directory and start over.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-08-2008
DuffMan DuffMan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,509
Default

The game is going to have to be reinstalled, that's the only way I can see it working.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-10-2010
chogmamma chogmamma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Default stronghold no CD error

Hey i just got an error for the first time that ive never seen before. When i click start it brings up an error box that tells me to "Please execute Silkroad.exe" and thats it. I tried re-downloading and re-installing it and it still gives me the error. Any ideas? it cant be anything major i hope so. -thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-10-2010
DuffMan DuffMan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,509
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chogmamma
Hey i just got an error for the first time that ive never seen before. When i click start it brings up an error box that tells me to "Please execute Silkroad.exe" and thats it. I tried re-downloading and re-installing it and it still gives me the error. Any ideas? it cant be anything major i hope so. -thanks
Make sure your game version matches the No-CD version, use the v1.2 STRONGHOLD v1.2 [ENGLISH] NO-CD/FIXED EXE (598KB)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
GameFileForums.com